“Pastel Drop” Earrings

I made these pastel earrings in 2010, using some super basic wire wrapping techniques. They are made of sterling and argentium silver wire, gauge 28, of aquamarine rondelle beads, and two rose quartz briollete drops. They are delicate and bear a little over a hint of blue and pink color. Wearing them makes me feel like a princess of wispy mornings.

05_03_13-IMG_6980

In shade.

Now that I’m photographing them, I notice that they are uneven in length – when wearing them, this was never really noticeable.

I’ve taken these pictures on a sunny day, mid-afternoon.

05_03_13-IMG_6989

Here you can see that the silver of the wire has tarnished somewhat, resulting in a contrast to the pastel gemstone beads

05_03_13-img_6978.jpg

In bright direct sunlight.

05_03_13-IMG_6982

This was an attempt to get the earrings on a grey background. Hah. It’s far too busy, and makes the earrings difficult to see. However, their color is conveyed nicely.

05_03_13-IMG_6984

Long, awesome and delicate.

This entry was posted in Earrings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Pastel Drop” Earrings

  1. artsygenius says:

    As a photographer, I normally don’t recommend taking pictures of jewelry in bright sunlight because it washes out color, but these came out nicely. And you could always lengthen the earring that is too short.

    Like

    • rowan0ak says:

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Whaa, I’m an absolute beginner at photography of anything, but am very aware how good photos are a must fo doing justice to jewelry. What’s the lighting you prefer/would recommend?

      I’m also just using an i-phone camera at this point – my partner’s got a a fancy Canon with some mind-blowing lenses and filters, but I’ve not learned to use them yet. Once I do, I know I’ll be able to get better white balance and control exposure, but meanwhile… My initial goal, I guess, is to capture the color accurately, and the overall look. Next would be to make the photos sufficiently artsy.

      And yeah, that earring length 🙂 I think my main lesson learned is that I should plan out the jewelry I make to some extent – make sure I’ve enough beads, that everything matches in size, that the chain length is identical, etc. Thus far I’ve winged it – I’ll make the first earring without design prep, going with the flow, and then will replicate with second earring. I’ve actually had occasions when I’ve run out of materials mid-project!
      So, planning ahead is a must-skill I need to learn. 🙂

      Like

      • artsygenius says:

        You don’t have to buy an expensive camera to get good results, but an iPhone is too basic. Some point-and-shoot type of cameras (check out Canons) have the capability of setting apertures and white balance. The most important thing is sharp focus and avoiding things that will change the color of your jewelry. You can always use Photoshop to change the color of course, but if the color was skewed when you shot it, sometimes you can never get it quite right. Put white or grey behind your jewelry to get neutral colors and avoid bright sunlight. Hope that helps.

        Like

Leave a Reply

