“Midnight Waters” Earrings

Dum-dum-dum-dum – drrrrum rrrroll! Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome to the stage the ultimate beauty, the blue-green Thai sapphire!

I saw a strand of these on Etsy, and while I debated whether to officially become a crazy bead lazy and get them, they were snatched up. Regretful, I contacted the vendor, SYAU, and asked her to look out for another strand and get it on my behalf. Fairly soon, bam! https://www.etsy.com/transaction/46044910 This strand cost me $160. (This was back when not only was I working, but when my ex and I made tons of disposable income, so I managed to spend a couple thousand dollars on beading supplies in 3 months  – this was around May 2010, which is the approximate date for a lot of my beading projects.)

So, these are sapphire, gold findings and gold-filled wire.

05_08_13-IMG_7310

Here begins the odyssey to capture the color of thai sapphires.

05_08_13-IMG_7313

They are green/blue – the color you see shifts based on lighting conditions, and is also zoned within the stones itself.

05_08_13-IMG_7315

In the rainy overcast light, these mostly looked an inky dark green.

05_08_13-IMG_7316

05_08_13-IMG_7321

05_08_13-IMG_7324

Here you can see that these stones have quite a lot of blue in them, under brighter diffused light.

 

This entry was posted in Earrings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Midnight Waters” Earrings

  1. Anya says:

    I think I need to model these for you so you can get a more “true to life” pic 😉

    Like

    • mimB says:

      I might take you up on that, actually, at some point. I think modeling jewelry really helps put it in context. I’m planning to research how to model jewelry, and then I’ll need models 😀

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    omg. i was like “i really need to stop commenting that i love every single piece or olga won’t believe me anymore” but these are my new favorite, sooooo beautiful! Agree with Anya, I want to see all these on!

    Like

    • Anya says:

      Sarah, these are *amazing* IRL. I borrowed them from Olga once when I went to an international conference and wanted to give an edge to my usual laid-back look. They were the perfect touch, and I got a compliment on them from my boss the second she saw me wearing them 🙂

      Like

      • mimB says:

        Wish I could introduce you guys properly somehow – you’ve both heard from me about each other. I went to Anya’s wedding in October right before our first visit to Boston last year – and Sarah and her John are our primary reason for visiting Boston – they got married in August last year, and I’ve definitely mentioned their wedding to Anya.

        Anya – something I’ve been meaning to ask you in view of my plans to make earring for sale: how were these length wise for you? I remember you said that any heavier and it would be too heavy for you – makes me wonder, if I try to lighter earrings, how short would be too short? 3/4 of the current length, 1/2…?

        Also – if you remember, how was it wearing these with the post findings? Would you have preferred another finding type?

        Like

Leave a Reply

