“Strictly Business” Earrings

I’ve called these Strictly Business because I think they’re a perfect flirty addition to a business wardrobe. The rutilated quartz (with tourmaline rutile, I suspect) looks totally black unless it’s against the light or close up, and black is always a stylish color. The hexagon shape is very elegant, I think – more so that other common shapes, like circles or triangles or even squares. Just picture the same earrings but with circles. Ugh – overwhelmed by repetition!

These are definitely getting a remake Β – with fish hook findings, and a smaller gauge wire – the current one was too thick, looks clumsy, and is just meh.

05_08_13-IMG_7340

The current wire also seems to tarnish easily, faster than the findings and the chain.

05_08_13-IMG_7346

Here you can see the rutile clearly.

05_08_13-IMG_7347

I have a lot of rutilated quartz in my bead stack, it’s an easy stone to love – transparent except for needles of other mineral inside.

05_08_13-IMG_7351

Look at that delicious shape…

This entry was posted in Earrings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Strictly Business” Earrings

  1. Sarah says:

    ooooooh i LOVE these too!!!!!!! the stones are so cool! i think they look great as is but i’m sure once you remake them i’ll be amazed that they look even more amazing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Anya says:

    It’s fascinating… I looked at the photos of this entry at least three times, each time thinking “oooh, how pretty. I can totally see a business lady rocking these.” Then a day later I finally read your description, and how you mention that the wire is too thick. I looked over the pics again, and sure enough, now the wire looks kind of thick. But never for a second would have I thought that before! I’m going to make a mental note of this effect for myself when listing stuff in my Etsy shop πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • mimB says:

      As in – don’t point out blemishes, otherwise people will agree? πŸ˜€

      Actually, when I made them, I must have been low on thinner wire, but have thought that they looked fine? And when I wore them over the past two years, same thing – never noticed. But after taking photos of everything… the thinner the wire, the more seamless the wire wrapping looks, it seems – I’m guessing that from now on, I’ll try sticking to 28 – 30 gauge wire.

      Like

      • Anya says:

        Yup — don’t point out the blemishes πŸ˜‰ Some things need to be disclosed, such as cracking, chips, etc. But elements of style? It’s beautiful and that’s it πŸ˜› Don’t love it, don’t buy it πŸ˜‰ (or return it, that’s ok too). Of course I’m wearing my seller hat here.

        Like

Leave a Reply

