“Autumn Silver Birch” Earrings

With the goal of opening a shop on Etsy, I have begun making the first 10 items to list. Some of them will likely be reproductions of pieces that I wear most frequently myself, but some are new. The “Autumn Silver Birch” earrings are a new design – a rework of a very early attempt at wire-wrapping I did back in 2011 – at a far away time when I was still buying semi-precious stones at Michaels.

SilverBirch006-2

This started as an attempt to take the focal Banded Agate rectangles and make them dangly, and to soften their modern-ess. After playing around with shapes (squares, rounds and triangles) and discarding most of the bead combinations due to texture conflict, I really liked the color combination rhodolite and tourmaline offered. It did not detract from the shiny stripes of the agate, and subtly created an autumn/rainy tone – rich dark reds and greens of tree bark or earth.

SilverBirch012-2

On top left, drawing made with pen and copic markers. Because – any excuse to use copics is a good excuse. πŸ˜›

I’ve also started keeping strict track of the materials and time I spend on a project Β – partially to figure out pricing for my works, partially so that I can get better at purchasing materials in sufficient quantities. The photo below is my estimate of materials to be used – and a very vague visual representation of the design I was going for.

SilverBirch013-2

To anyone interested: original materials estimate for wire and tourmaline was 2 ft and 6 beads, respectively.

These took me about 3 hours of work – I tried harder than usual to have clean wire-wrapping connections between the beads and on the headpins. Close to finishing the first earring, I realized that the design wasn’t balanced; the rhodolites on the bottom looked thin, the tourmalines at the top made a too long of a line to the ear-wire. In the end, I used the following materials (these twice exceeded my initial estimate on tourmaline and wire usage):

  • Banded Agate (2 focals)
  • Rhodolite Garnet Smooth Chips (12 pieces)
  • Sterling Silver Chain (1″)
  • Tourmaline (14 pieces)
  • Sterling Silver Ear-wires (1 pair)
  • Sterling Silver 28g Wire (4 ft)
  • Bali Silver Star Spacers (8 beads)

The end result – each earring is 3″ in length from the top of the ear-wire, and weights 0.35oz. This would potentially be on the heavy side for some wearers, but feels nice and significant to me – I like to sense that I have earrings on, and to feel their swing with my step.

SilverBirch001-2

Photo taken on sunny day, in shade

SilverBirch002-2

In direct sunlight

SilverBirch003-2

In shade – you can see the faceting on the agates.

SilverBirch004-2

I am a sucker for dappled shadows. πŸ™‚

SilverBirch007-2

I think these would work great with earthy colors, or subdued fall colors.

SilverBirch008-2

As comparison to a caucasian skin tone. Makes me sorely wish my indian and asian friends were in town and willing to model.

SilverBirch010-2

Against skin, direct sunlight.

SilverBirch014-2

Managed to get my plans to cooperate as props!

SilverBirch016-2

I think the banding on the agates, and colors of these earrings overall, are darker on a gloomier day or indoors. The darker they are, the more the shapes stand out – which works nicely, I think, since the agates have strong lines.

Β 

This entry was posted in Earrings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

